Today in Lok Sabha Modi government will face its first No confidence motion, in its fourth year by opposition parties. The TDP’s Kesineni Srinivas will move the no-confidence motion in support of Congress, CPI(M) and the other parties this morning in the Lok Sabha and the load will now be on the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government to prove its strength in the House.

Want to know about No confidence motion?

A no-confidence motion can be moved by any member of the House. It can be moved only in the Lok Sabha and not Rajya Sabha.

5 important things you should know about No Confidence Motion :

1. The current strength of the Lok Sabha is 533, excluding the speaker. While the ruling NDA needs the support of 267 MPs to defeat the motion, it has 312. The arithmetic, therefore, should ensure that the Modi government will win the no-trust motion by a thumping majority.

2. For the BJP, the no-confidence motion is a test of loyalty towards the NDA ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The AIADMK, for example, has hinted that it might not back the motion. Tamil Nadu Chief Minister K.Palaniswami said the motion was moved by the TDP over an issue concerning Andhra Pradesh.

3. On Wednesday, Speaker Sumitra Mahajan admitted notices for the motion moved by the TDP and opposition parties against the government on issues like grant of special status to Andhra Pradesh, mob lynchings, atrocities against women and Dalits and dilution of a law meant for Scheduled Castes which will begin at 11 A.M.

4. The last no-confidence motion moved in Parliament was in 2003 when a Congress-led Opposition was defeated by the Atal Bihari Vajpayee-led NDA government in a trust vote after the Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK withdrew its support. It led to fresh elections. That time the issue was related to the re-induction of defense minister George Fernandes in the Union Cabinet over corruption charges. In the heated debate, which went on till late night, Vajpayee had taunted toCongress president Sonia Gandhi by asking her to “come to the maidaan (field) for an electoral bout”.

5. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is scheduled to reply to the debate around 6 pm. His reply will be followed by a vote on the motion.

Latest news, Stock updates , Share market tips  @ Investelite Research 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *